Random Musing

I haven’t done one of these in, like, FOREVER! I was thinking about books, trends, and remakes. So I was checking out a post from belleofthelibrary, who noted some books written outside the U.S. You can check out her post here. Actually the cover of Written in the Stars by Aisha Saeed made me think of another book and I also noticed The Wrath and the Dawn by Renee Ahdieh in there as well.

The Written in the Stars cover made me think of A Thousand Nights by E.K. Johnston which is a retelling of 1001 Nights. Of course, Saeed’s story has nothing to do with the classic while Ahdieh’s book does but it still reminded me of a book which reminded me of something else.

a_thousand_nights

1001 Nights is getting it’s turn in the retelling business. Aladdin is also getting a turn in ABC’s Once Upon a Time series which I am excited about!

At the book store, a couple of book covers caught my eye and on reading the summaries I noticed a few that were retellings of the beautiful storyteller who’s spared from the mad king’s wrath.

Before that, The Wizard of Oz was going through and Alice in Wonderland was getting a spin from dozens of wonderful authors. Fairytales like Snow White, Cinderella, and Beauty & the Beast still regularly get re-imaginings from creative minds as well.

It makes me wonder: What’s next?

Not that all these retellings are a bad thing. It’s always nice finding a new spin on an old favorite. Shoot, I’m reading the Dorothy Must Die series, Danielle Paige’s dark take on L. Frank Baum’s Oz books.

But it certainly is interesting to see what picks up and what doesn’t.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

