Manga Madness and The Box

Well my foray into the library ended in failure as I had to return my books without finishing them. Oh well. That’s what I get for being ambitious I guess.

I’m still buried in piles of books including manga that were kinda-not really impulse buys.

To-be-read from this glossy pile are:

requiem_rose_king_1

 

Requiem of the Rose King by Aya Kanno

This is the first of Aya Kanno’s works that I’m checking out. Some of her works are published by VIZ Media’s Shoujo Beat division and include, Otomen and Blank Slate. But RoRK is based off of William Shakespeare’s Henry VI and Richard III.

Normally I don’t go for these types of drama and tragedy. It makes me think of a train wreck where I know it’s gonna be awful but I can’t look away. To be clear, I like happy endings and I know this probably won’t end well but the story looked so good that in the end I couldn’t resist picking it up.

skip-beat-3_in_1-vol4

Skip Beat big editions

Right now I’m on volume 4 of the big edition (comprised of volumes 10, 11, & 12). This is a long series and as Kyoko gets ready to star in her first drama the pace is starting to pick up! And! We get more Ren since he’s playing the lead role in the drama! But wait, the LME President is against it! *gasp!* We’ll find out why in this volume!

From the not-really-glossy-pile (but still smooth pages and nice illustrations):

Goliath_Cover

Goliath by Scott Westerfeld

It’s taken me forever to finally start this final volume in Mr. Westerfeld’s YA steampunk trilogy set in an alternate WWI. But I have finally started the first chapter. What? The first chapter? That’s it?! :/ I know, I know. But once you read that first chapter, it’s all downhill from here. And hey, at least I started it; that’s something (no it’s not).

Anyway.

I’m buried in books and the only way to dig myself out is to dig in and read. Once I get these out of the way, it’s on to The Box. What’s in The Box? Why books of course (and you ruined it).

One thought on “Manga Madness and The Box

  1. […] keep referencing this Box and what it is, obviously is a box of books I need to read. Still working on finishing the books […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

