eBook Finish! The Demon Prince of Momochi House, vol. 1

IMG_0316[1]

Screenshots taken with iPod Touch

I’d been looking for new manga to put on my Nook so I decided to give Aya Shouto a try. Published by VIZ Media, The Demon Prince of Momochi House is fantasy-romance type deal that I love! Once I started, I couldn’t put it down. I kept picking it back up like, “Just a little more, just a little more” and before I knew it I finished the first volume. I bought the second one right away (along with other ebooks under $2.99. *sigh* I need help -.-;).

Anyways.

Himari Momochi is an orphan who lost her parents in an accident. When she turns sixteen she gets a letter saying she inherited Momochi House. Having had no family except for the orphanage where she grew up, Himari’s thrilled to make a new start and make the mansion her home. But she’s in for a very interesting surprise when she finds the house is already occupied by freeloaders!

IMG_0315[1]

One of these freeloaders is a boy around her age named Aoi. He appears before her completely naked(!) and then tells her to leave the house. What?! A freeloader who sits around the house all day and doesn’t even go to school telling her to leave the house she legally inherited? Himari stays despite the warning and hilarious attempts to get her to leave.

But she quickly finds out there’s a reason Aoi and his two friends wanted her out as Momochi House sits on the border between thehuman and spiritual realms. The house chose Aoi to be the Omamori-sama who protects the boundary between the two worlds. Himari was supposed to become the Omamori-sama but Aoi broke the seal when he wandered in as a little boy. Despite all the paranormal and ayakashi stuff going on, Himari decides to stay and make this place her home.

I thought the first volume was a great introduction into the story. It got into it right away without moving too quickly. I love how Himari faces her challenges head-on and tries to figure out a way to be of help to Aoi and his shikigami. There’s also the typical romance with Himari starting to like Aoi. The scene where the ayakashi and Ise try to scare her away only to be scared by her was so funny!

IMG_0317[1]

All in all, I’m really looking forward to reading more of this series.

Leave a Reply

