A random musing….

Book covers

One thing I noticed when browsing books at stores or on websites is covers. Book covers are designed to catch our eye and pull us in. “Look at me. Open me. Buy me,” they say. I’ve read a lot of YA fiction and one thing I noticed were the trilogies. Well, you know, it doesn’t have to be YA but book covers in general.

Anyway. To my point, I noticed trilogy books tend to have a color scheme of RGB; red, green, and blue. Or red, blue, and yellow. The Matched trilogy by Allie Condie uses green (Matched), blue (Crossed), and red (Reached). Veronica Roth’s Divergent trilogy used this same color scheme. Suzanne Collins’s The Hunger Games uses yellow, red, and blue. Primary colors are really a thing I noticed. Sometimes I wonder why primary colors. Is it because these colors are easier on the printers? Do books with these colors tend to sell better? Is it because they match??

Obviously there are other trilogy books out there that use this same scheme and others that don’t.

Have you ever run by a series that just jumped out at you? Know of any other trilogy I didn’t mention here? Or maybe one that doesn’t follow the RGB type color scheme?

This has been a random musing, maybe not the best musing, but a random one.

Leave a Reply

